I have been reading his books recently and include these among those I am enjoying immensely: Bare Ruined Choirs, Doubt, Prophecy, and Radical Religion (1972), Papal Sin: Structures of Deceit (2000), Why I Am a Catholic (2002), The Future of the Catholic Church with Pope Francis (2015).

I think that he is a must read for the incisive perspective he brings to the obvious failures of the institutional Catholic Church through history; while retaining a deep devotion to the Church of the Apostle’s Creed; a stance very congruent to that which I have reached since my conversion and baptism in 2004.

The Great Story of the Catholic Church is within her founding by God, her teaching by saints, and her transcendent ideas standing as a sign of contradiction to the world.

The sad story of the Catholic Church is within the satanic influence of too many of her leaders leading to sinful governance, the corrupted teaching of enemies within and without, and a too often alignment with the world; all of which Garry Wills addresses admirably.